Sunday, 9th January 2022
Prev  |  Next

DEF LEPPARD/JOE ELLIOTT Debut Down 'n' Outz/Bowie Songs At A BOWIE CELEBRATION 2022 (Show Report/Setlist)

Def Leppard 2022. A Bowie Celebration

Def Leppard took part in the A Bowie Celebration online concert last night with photos and setlist available.

The event titled Mike Garson's 'A Bowie Celebration 2022' took place last night via the Rolling Live Studios website.

The second events of its kind was held to coincide with David's 75th birthday and six years since his death in 2016.

The concert was announced in December 2021 and is the second annual 'A Bowie Celebration' event to take place.

Th show started at 6pm PT USA / 2am UK time and lasted until 4:21am - just under two and a half hours.

Many great artists performed memorable versions of David Bowie's classic songs.

View the show details below including Def Leppard's live return after two years.

Joe Elliott Performance

Joe debuted his 2019 David Bowie tribute song 'Goodnight Mr. Jones' which was originally recorded for the Down 'n' Outz album 'This Is How We Roll'.

In a possible hint he had played the song on his weekly pLanet Rock show earlier in the evening.

Joe was filmed on his own against a black background (as in 2021) and shown on a screen as Mike Garson and his band played the music and provided backing vocals.

Futuristic spacey graphics were shown on the video wall behind the live band.

Def Leppard Performance

The band played David Bowie's 'Drive-In Saturday' for the very first time live.

Their first band live performance since the November 2019 show in Sacramento, CA which ended that year's touring.

The song was first released in May 2006 on the 'YEAH!' covers album.

The band were filmed playing against black backdrops as Joe had been for his solo song. The band images were seen on the screen inside old style TV sets as well as zooming in for close up shots.

Mike Garson played in the live studio with his backing singers.

And in a fun twist Sav was not wearing a shirt under his jacket but...shock...Mr. Collen was. Phil has also partly shaved his old geezer beard - for those who care.

Other performers included - Walk the Moon, Duran Duran's Simon Le Bon and John Taylor and Rob Thomas of Matchbox Twenty who ended the show.

The concert is currently streaming online for the next 24 hours at the website for those who purchased tickets.

View a Photo Gallery from the Def Leppard performance.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Def Leppard 2021.

A Bowie Celebration 2022 - Photos

Def Leppard 2021.

A Bowie Celebration 2022 - Mike Garson Def Leppard Intro

"Def Leppard has been together for more than 40 years. Selling over a hundred million albums."

"They adored David and for the first time in two years I am so proud to have them together again."

A Bowie Celebration 2022 - 8th January 2022 Setlist

  • 01 - Fame - (Walk The Moon)
  • 02 - Young Americans - (Living Colour)
  • 03 - I'm Afraid Of Americans - (Living Colour)
  • 04 - It Ain't Easy - (Judith Hill)
  • 00 - Ricky Gervais Story
  • 05 - Five Years - (Gaby Moreno)
  • 06 - Space Oddity (2021 Encore Presentation) - (William Corgan/Mike Garson)
  • 07 - Jean Genie - (Bernard Fowler)

  • 08 - Goodnight Mr. Jones - (Joe Elliott w/ Mike Garson And Band)

Live debut of the Down 'n' Outz David Boie tribute song released on the 2019 'This Is How We Roll' album.

The first live performance by Joe since November 2019 and the first song from this album to be sung live.

Mike Garson and his band played all the music.

Accompanied by Mike Garson on piano and his band Gerry Loenard/Charlie Sexton (Guitars), Carmine Rojas (Drums). Backing singers Alan Childs/Kitten Kuroi/Maiya Sykes and Jules Galli.

Plus The Section Quartet (Eric Gorfain/Daphne Chen/Leah Katz/Richard Dodd). Sound mixed by Ronan McHugh.

  • 09 - Time - (Charlie Sexton/Gaby Moreno)
  • 10 - Lazarus - (Charlie Sexton)
  • 00 - Ricky Gervais Story
  • 11 - Golden Years - (Walk The Moon)
  • 12 - Starman - (Gretchen Parlato)
  • 13 - As The World Falls Down - (Evan Rachel Wood)
  • 00 - Labyrinth Movie Talk w/ Evan Rachel Wood/Mike Garson

  • 14 - Drive-In Saturday - (Def Leppard (Ft. Mike Garson)

Live debut of the David Bowie cover recorded for the 2006 'YEAH!' covers album.

The band members were all filmed separately against black backgrounds.

Accompanied by Mike Garson on piano and his backing singers Kitten Kuroi, Maiya Sykes and Jules Galli. Sound mixed by Ronan McHugh.

  • 15 - Ashes To Ashes - (Charlie Sexton)
  • 16 - Slip Away - (Gary Oldman)
  • 00 - Ricky Gervais Extas Story
  • 17 - Jazz Instrumental - (Mike Garson And Band)
  • 18 - Let's Dance - (Duran Duran (Simon Le Bon/John Taylor)
  • 19 - Wild Is The Wind - (Bernard Fowler/Judith Hill)
  • 20 - All The Young Dudes - (Joe Sumner)
  • 00 - Ricky Gervais Story
  • 21 - Valentne's Day - ((Noel Gallagher)
  • 22 - Shadow Man - (Gail Ann Dorsey)
  • 23 - Under Pressure - (Walk The Moon)
  • 24 - Modern Love - (Jake Wesley Rogers)
  • 25 - Life On Mars - (Jake Wesley Rogers)
  • 26 - Changes - Rob Thomas
  • 27 - Heroes - Rob Thomas

Show lasted for 2 hours and 20 minutes.

Def Leppard 2020.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard World Tour 2022

Related News - DEF LEPPARD/JOE ELLIOTT Schedule First Live Show Of 2022 For A BOWIE CELEBRATION Event

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT In FREDDIE MERCURY The Final Act (Photos/Transcript)

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT In FREDDIE MERCURY The Final Act Preview Video

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT In New FREDDIE MERCURY The Final Act Documentary On BBC 2


Related News - DEF LEPPARD's 2019 DOWNLOAD FESTIVAL Footage To Feature On SKY ARTS TV In June

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours