Friday, 17th June 2022
Prev  |  Next

DEF LEPPARD Fire Up Spectacular STADIUM TOUR Opener In ATLANTA (Show Report)

Def Leppard 2022. Screenshot

Def Leppard headlined night one of The Stadium Tour in Atlanta, GA last night with an impressive and spectacular 18 song show.

The show took place at the 40,000 plus capacity Truist Park stadium.

The first show in Atlanta since July 2018 when they made their debut at this stadium under the name SunTrust Park with Journey.

42 almost to the month since their first time in or near Atlanta when they played in Braselton, GA at the Georgia Jam '80.

Their 25th show overall in Atlanta.

COVID delays, two postponements later The Stadium Tour finally kicked off in Atlanta, GA.

Extreme 36C temperatures seemed to be the only thing affecting the show until Def Leppard's headline set when a torrential downpour engulfed the stadium.

But not even a rain and lightning storm could prevent a spectacular first night back on a big stage after two years and a half years away.

As seen in the videos and photos the lighting only added to the show as Def Leppard's crew outdid themselves again with another very impressive display.

And the band were also on "fire" as heard in the many live Facebook videos broadcast during their set.

And 'Fire It Up' they did with that song making it's live debut.

Followed up with 'This Guitar' also being played for the first time (without Alison Krauss).

Before Lep Motley Crue appeared to be in fine form and eased any pre tour fears about their show.

Yes Vince Neil was singing and looking better than his recent solo shows suggested he might. They also had a pretty impressive stage show especially at the end with lots of props and pyro.

Ross Halfin was on hand to photograph Def Leppard and take the now obligatory 'end of show with audience in background' shot.

New Song Debuts

Both 'Fire It Up' and 'This Guitar' made their live debuts with the first played as song #2 after opener 'Take What You Want'.

The most new songs from a new studio album in one show since the 2006 YEAH! tour.

Both 'Take What You Want' and 'Kick' remained in the set after their concert debuts in Los Angeles at The Whisky A Go Go show.

Acoustic Section

'This Guitar' kicked off this section and after he had played a snippet of 'Ziggy Stardust' to commemorate the 50th anniversary of that album by David Bowie..

'Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad' made a welcomed return as a surprise inclusion during the semi-acoustic section where it was played with Rick on drums and a new ending with a very cool vocal arrangement.

Also surprising was this was the only song played from 'Adrenalize' with 'Let's Get Rocked' being one of the more regularly played songs cut to make way for new music.

'Two Steps Behind' was played by Joe as with the 2015 tour but a much shorter version with only the first verse and chorus.

Impressive Staging/Opening Sequence

The opening of the show resembled the 2018 tour and other recent ones with a countdown and intro video.

The audio was the intro from the 'Diamond Star Halos' album itself along with lots of pre show advertising on the screens.

The video screen above the stage had been lowered beforehand and rose up to reveal the band but this time to the sounds of 'Take What You Want' and not 'Rocket'.

Tommy Lee Injury

Tommy Lee announced halfway through Motley Crue's show that he was unable to continue due to having broken four ribs two weeks before the show.

He was replaced by Tommy Clufetos who will now stand in for him.

Atlanta, GA 2022 Photos

Screenshots by dltourhistory.

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2022 Fan Videos.

Joe Elliott - Kick Intro

"This band has been together 45 years. And you all know that we have been through a few things. Rick, Steve, Vivian. And a little bit of rain ain't gonna bother us."

We just had two and a half years away from playing because of this pandemic. Which was a terrible situation for the whole world. But we didn't let it go to waste."

We had a plan and we thought we can't go in - we can talk to each other on the phone. Write some songs. And them maybe, just maybe make some new music."

And that's exactly what we did. So we've got this album called Diamond Star Halos!. And we'd like to play you the first song that we released from that album. This song is called K.I.C.K...Kick!."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech

"Atlanta, Georgia. Thank you very much for being here tonight. From all of us it's great to be back!. Goodnight!."

"We'd like to thank Joan Jett And The Blackhearts. Poison. Motley Crue. Our crew."

"And most of all everybody out there that stayed here in spite of the rain, we love you. Thank you so much."

"This is the first night of our tour. We're gonna take a photo and you are all gonna be in it OK."

"Thank you guys. It's been a lot of fun. It's been wet and it's been wonderful. We'll see you next time. And there will be a next time! We love you. Thank you. Goodnight."

The next Def Leppard show will take place in Miami, FL on 18th June as The Stadium Tour continues.

Def Leppard Atlanta, GA 16th June 2022 Setlist

show intro

  • Diamond Star Halos Album Video
  • 01 - Take What You Want
  • 02 - Fire It Up - (Live Debut)
  • 03 - Animal
  • 04 - Foolin'
  • 05 - Armageddon It
  • 06 - Kick
  • 07 - Love Bites
  • 08 - Excitable
  • 00 - Ziggy Stardust (Joe Elliott Acoustic Snippet)
  • 09 - This Guitar - (Live Debut)
  • 10 - Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad - (Semi-Acoustic)
  • 11 - Two Steps Behind (Short Version/Joe Elliott Only) - (Acoustic)
  • 12 - Rocket (Single Version)
  • 13 - Bringin' On The Heartbreak
  • 14 - Switch 625 (instrumental)
  • 15 - Hysteria
  • 16 - Pour Some Sugar On Me


  • 17 - Rock of Ages
  • 18 - Photograph

Motley Crue Atlanta, GA 16th June 2022 Setlist

  • 01 - Wild Side
  • 02 - Shout at the Devil
  • 03 - Too Fast for Love
  • 04 - Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
  • 05 - Saints of Los Angeles
  • 06 - Live Wire - (Tommy Lee Announcement)
  • 07 - Looks That Kill
  • 08 - The Dirt (Est. 1981) (with Machine Gun Kelly) (Live Debut)
  • 09 - Medley
  • 10 - Home Sweet Home
  • 11 - Dr. Feelgood
  • 12 - Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)
  • 13 - Piece of Your Action
  • 14 - Girls, Girls, Girls
  • 15 - Primal Scream
  • 16 - Kickstart My Heart

Various Photos

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours