Sunday, 1st September 2018
Prev  |  Next

The JOE ELLIOTT Show 1st September 2018 Playlist/Transcript

Joe Elliott 2018. By Chele Drappel

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott hosted another edition of his weekly radio show last night on Planet Rock.

This week's show included songs by Ricky Warwick, David Bowie and his recently released Mick Ronson cover.

The full playlist is shown below and a full transcript.

The show is available until next Saturday using the On Demand feature. It is also repeated on Tuesdays at 9pm.

The Joe Elliott Show - 1st September 2018 Playlist

  • 01 - The Faces - Pool Hall Richard
  • 02 - Ricky Warwick - Tattoos And Alibis
  • 03 - Mott The Hoople - Going Home
  • 04 - Joe Walsh - Rocky Mountain Way
  • 05 - Be Bop Deluxe - Crying To The Sky
  • 06 - Elton John - Madman Across The Water
  • 07 - Joe Elliott - This Is For You
  • 08 - David Bowie - John, I'm Only Dancing
  • 09 - Roxy Music - Do The Strand
  • 10 - Eddie And The Hot Rods - Do Anything You Want To Do
  • 11 - The Clash - English Civil War
  • 12 - Thin Lizzy - Don't Believe A Word

Show Intro

"Evening all and welcome once again to the Joe Elliott show right here on the wonderful Planet Rock. This week it is coming to you all the way from Houston in Texas. Yes the Def Leppard x Journey tour has rolled into the lone star state and let me tell you it is sweltering here. But Houston, Texas great party town and what better way to get this show started than a great party band. This is The Faces."

The Faces

"From their mid 70s Best of collection Snakes And Ladders that is The Faces featuring of course on lead vocals Mr. Rod Stewart with the wonderful bit of work called Pool Hall Richard."

Ricky Warwick

"Right then Scott Gorham, say what you gotta say."

"And before that we heard the title track from Ricky Warwick's debut solo album Tattoos And Alibis. And yes that was Mr. Scott Gorham of Thin Lizzy introducing the song. More on him later on."

Mott The Hoople

"Originally only available in Germany on vinyl when it was put out in 1980. That is the Island Records Collection of unreleased material by Mott The Hoople. The song we heard Going Home. It's off the album Two Miles From Heaven."

Joe Walsh

"Now here's a guy that was talked about as a replacement for Mick Ralphs in Mott The Hoople long before they got Ariel Bender. It probably wouldn't have worked out, but it may have been interesting if it had."

"And before that Joe Walsh from his collection Look What I Did. And yes he was talked about as being asked to be a member of Mott The Hoople because his band Barnstormer opened for Mott many times in the early 70s. Whether they ever asked him I don't really know. I'd have to ask Mr. Ian Hunter that one. But it would have been an interesting combination hearing him in Mott The Hoople. As it happens it didn't happen. But what we got instead was the magnificent Rocky Mountain Way."

Be Bop Deluxe

"I'm very much looking forward to the re-release of that album in its new format which will be about five or six disc. But for now though we'll have to deal with what I have. That is from 1976 the album Sunburst Finish. The band Be Bop Deluxe. The song we heard, great bit of work called Crying To The Sky."

"You are listening to the Joe Elliott show all the way from Houston, Texas this week. It's time for a little break and when we come back, we're heading off over the big blue."

Elton John

"And before that we heard Elton John from the album Rare Masters. Also featuring Mick Ronson. Before David Johnson got the job in the Elton John band they tried out many guitarists, one of them was Mick Ronson. The song we heard, the classic Madman Across The Water."

Joe Elliott

"Now if you've been scouring the world wide web for the last week or so you may have noticed that yours truly just dropped a video for that particular song. It was written by a guy called Laurie Heath. Originally a member of The New Seekers. And it was recorded by Mick Ronson in 1975 for his second solo album Play Don't Worry. But that is my version that recorded specifically for the Beside Bowie documentary and original soundtrack."

David Bowie

"Oh and by the way the video for This Is For You was released to coincide with the 46th anniversary of this beauty by David Bowie."

"And before that David Bowie and The Spiders From Mars. It was a standalone single in 1972. These days it can be found as a bonus track on the re-release of Aladdin Sane. That is the rarer sax version of John, I'm Only Dancing."

Roxy Music

"Some might say art rock personified. I say it's all rock and roll to me. That is Roxy Music from 1973. The lead off track from the album For Your Pleasure. The wonderful Do The Strand."

Eddie And The Hot Rods

"Well John let's see if you can dance to this. This is Eddie And The Hot Rods."

"And before that, it's one of those songs that once it gets under your skin, it's there for the rest of your life. It is the magnificent Eddie And The Hot Rods with Do Anything You Want To Do."

The Clash

"Now that is how to take an old English folk song and completely turn it on its head. The Clash there from the album Give 'Em Enough Rope with English Civil War."

Show Outro

"And that my friends, all the way from Houston in Texas, is about it for this week. It's been a real pleasure as always. I shall be back with you next week at exactly the same time from Las Vegas on what will be the Eve of the last show of leg three of this mammoth US tour."

"So I leave you with this. This is a song that I had the great pleasure of seeing many times live in late 70s. I've also had the massive privilege of being able to record this song and remix the original. But this is the ultimate version. From the album Live And Dangerous this is Thin Lizzy and Don't Believe A Word. Until next week see ya!."

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar