Saturday, 21st January 2023
Prev  |  Next

DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT To Feature On New IAN HUNTER Album Defiance Part 1

Def Leppard 2023. Ian Hunter/Joe Elliott 2019/2023

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott will appear on the new Ian Hunter album Defiance Part 1 due out in April.

The album 'Defiance Part 1' is due to be released on Friday 21st April via Sun Records.

The single 'Bed Of Roses' has been released ahead of the album and can be heard below.

Joe has contributed backing vocals to two songs on the album.

Guernica - which also features Mike Campbell (of Dirty Knobs fame...and ex-Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers).

This Is What I’m Here For - features the late Taylor Hawkins on guest drums.

The first time Joe will has played on a recording with a member of the Foo Fighters. Taylor also contributed drums to two other songs.

This marks the first time Joe has appeared on an Ian Hunter solo album.

Outside of live collaborations they have previously appeared on the same studio recordings once before for the 1994 Mick Ronson album 'Heaven And Hull'.

Ian also contributed to a Def Leppard studio recording in 1993 when he played the piano intro for the revised version of 'Ride Into The Sun' on the 'Retro-Active' album.

Among the MANY other star name guests on the album are - Eric, Dean and Robert from Stone Temple Pilots (and Delta Deep), plus members of Guns N' Roses, Aerosmith, The Rolling Stones, Metallica and ex-Beatle Ringo Starr.

All songs were written by Ian Hunter and feature his regular band including guitarist Andy York. The album was written and recorded over the past two years and will be followed by a second album 'Defiance Part 2'.

Ian has not played a full live show since 3rd June 2019 after he developed issues with Tinnitus.

That show at the The City Winery in New York was the last of four 80th birthday celebration shows with Joe performing on four songs.

Ian's issues developed as he was rehearsing with Mott The Hoople for a USA tour planned for October/November 2019 forcing the tour to be cancelled.

He did briefly return to perform two songs (Dandy and All The Young Dudes) at the A Bowie Celebration show on 9th January 2021.

A show which Joe also performed two songs at.

Listen to the single below via Spotify.

Joe is listed as being on this song on the Amazon UK tracklist but not on Ian's own site or elsewhere.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Ian Hunter 2023.

Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 1

  • 01 - Defiance (Feat. Slash & Robert Trujillo) - 4:07
  • 02 - Bed of Roses (Feat. Ringo Star, Mike Campbel) - 5:22
  • 03 - No Hard Feelings (Feat. Johnny Depp & Jeff Beck) - 5:42
  • 04 - Pavlov's Dog (Feat. Dennis DiBrizzi, Dean DeLeo & Robert DeLeo) - 4:31
  • 05 - Don't Tread On Me (Feat. Todd Rundgren) - 3:52
  • 06 - Guernica (Feat. Mike Campbell & Joe Elliott) - 5:23
  • Dane Clark: Drums and Percussion
  • Mike Campbell: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Andy Burton: Harmonium
  • Andy York: Bass, Baritone Guitar, Background Vocal
  • Ian Hunter: Piano
  • 07 - I Hate Hate (Feat. Dennis DiBrizzi) - 3:55
  • 08 - Angel (Feat. Taylor Hawkins & Duff McKagan) - 6:08
  • 09 - Kiss N' Make Up (Feat. Taylor Hawkins & Billy Bob Thornton) - 2:56
  • 10 - This Is What I'm Here For (Feat. Taylor Hawkins & Joe Elliott) - 3:33
  • Taylor Hawkins: Drums
  • Waddy Wachtel: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Paul Page: Bass
  • Andy Burton: Organ
  • Andy York: Baritone Guitar
  • Ian Hunter: Piano
  • 11 - I Hate Hate (Alternate Version) - 3:52

  • Record Label - Sun Records
  • Total Time - 49 mins
  • Release Date - 21st April 2023

Buy 'Defiance Part 1' Online

Ian Hunter - January 2023 Press Release Quotes

Rock ‘n’ roll legend Ian Hunter has announced the release of his landmark new album, DEFIANCE PART 1, arriving via the Sun Records label on Friday, April 21, 2023. Pre-orders are available now HERE.

DEFIANCE PART 1 is heralded by today’s premiere of the nostalgic first single, “Bed Of Roses,” featuring guitarist Mike Campbell (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Fleetwood Mac) and drums by Ringo Starr, available today at all DSPs and streaming services.

An official music video for “Bed Of Roses” premieres today on YouTube.

“Everybody’s sitting around,” says Hunter. “It’s Covid. Nobody’s going anywhere. We started sending them out. Slash started doing something. Robert Trujillo from Metallica. Ringo Starr, Mike Campbell. Joe Elliott is on a few tracks. Johnny Depp said ‘Jeff Beck’s with me and we’d like to do a couple of songs.’

I know Todd Rundgren, I toured with Todd way back, he’s done an amazing job. Billy Gibbons. Billy Bob Thornton and JD Andrew from The Boxmasters.

It’s never ending. I mean, every day we’d get a phone call, this guy wants to do it, that guy wants to do it. It was like, I can’t believe this.”

Having spent the better part of two years on the project, Hunter isn’t done yet. As its title promises, DEFIANCE PART 1 will be followed by the arrival of DEFIANCE PART 2. The second chapter will feature an equally stunning range of special guests while projecting an entirely different thematic approach and songwriting aesthetic.

News Source -

Def Leppard 2022.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard The World Tour 2023

Related News - VIVIAN CAMPBELL/LAST IN LINE Announce Jericho Album/Release Ghost Town Single


Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT Reveals New Cover Song To Feature In Upcoming Advert

Related News - VIVIAN CAMPBELL Calls DEF LEPPARD'S HYSTERIA Album Landmark In Music History

Related News - VIVIAN CAMPBELL's LAST IN LINE Release A DAY IN THE LIFE Beatles Cover

Related News - DEF LEPPARD Release THIS GUITAR Lyric Video From DIAMOND STAR HALOS Album

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours