Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email. Get The Community Toolbar. Get The Community Toolbar.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Def Leppard 2017 Tour Portland, OR (Show Report)

Sunday, 11th June 2017

Def Leppard 2017.
Screenshot by dltourhistory

Def Leppard played another show on the 2017 North American Tour last night in Portland, OR with 17 songs performed.

The show took place at the 15,000 capacity Moda Center.

The band last played Portland on 1st June 2005 on the first Rock Of Ages Tour.

The tenth (full) show the band have played in Portland and first time at this venue (formerly known as Rose Garden Arena).

The first visit was in May 1980 on their first American tour as support to Pat Travers at the Memorial Coliseum.

They would return on the High 'n' Dry tour in November 1981 with Blackfoot at the Paramount Theatre.

Two shows were played at the Memorial Coliseum in 1983. In April as support to Billy Squier followed by the first headline show in August at the same venue.

The first of three Hysteria tour In The Round shows toook place in December 1987. This was followed by two shows in October 1988. Played just before the last show of the tour in Tacoma, WA.

The second night saw Iron Maiden's Steve Harris join them on stage to play 'Travellin' Band'.

A fourth In The Round show followed in September 1992 on the Adrenalize tour once again at Memorial Coliseum (which is located on the same Rose Quarter complex as Moda Center).

No full show was played on the 1996 Slang tour but they did make a special appearance at a daytime promo radio event in downton Portland which also featured Tina Arena, Color Me Badd and...KC & The Sunshine Band.

It would be June 2005 before they would return for the first show of the Rock Of Ages 'Rock And Roll Double Header' baseball stadium tour with Bryan Adams at PGE Park.

From September 2003 to September 2015 the band played seven shows in Ridgefield, WA at the Amphitheater Northwest. Located around 30 miles from Portland and sometimes referred to as Portland on stage by Joe.

17 songs were played at last night's show with all three new album songs staying in the set.

All of the new album songs were played in Portland for the first time. 'Rock On' also made its debut here as it was not introduced until mid June 2005 on the Rock Of Ages tour.

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2017 Portland, OR Fan Videos.

Joe Elliott - Phil Collen/Dangerous Intro

"Well look at this. God evening Portland, Oregon!. Look at this. How ya doing?. Phil Collen everybody. Amongst many numbers he may intro this evening. This is from our latest album. This one's called Dangerous!."

Joe Elliott - Rick Savage/Rock On Intro

"Thank you. Thank you very much. I'm sorry I just can't stop looking at the size of this f**king place. It's amazing. This is why we like coming back here. And we have been coming a long time. We first played here in 1980 I think it was. Opening for Pat Travers. That's a long time ago. That's 37 years ago. And look you're still coming. We love you. Keeping the faith. I can take you back even further than that, than 37 years because what's even snuck up on us this year is that the fact that this year, 2017, is this band's fortieth anniversary. Oh yeah, count 'em."

"Which takes us back to the summer of 1977. Who was alive in the summer of '77?. Who wasn't alive in the summer of '77?. Look at that. New blood. Everybody needs it, everybody wants it. But it was an amazing year. We're from Great Britain as you know and in the summer of '77 lots of great things were happening. Very inspiring for a bunch of teenage kids. Which is what we were back then. On one side of the coin you had stuff like the Ramones and Blondie and The Clash and the Sex Pistols. All taking off and on the other side of the coin you had bands coming through like Lynyrd Skynyrd and UFO, Queen, AC/DC!. It was great to be part of it and watch it happen but it was very inspiring. And that summer of '77 I met a sixteen year old kid for the very first time. And he came round to my Mum and Dad's house to see my record collection. By the end of the evening, we sort of made a pact and we said to one another. What do you think about putting a band together and seeing what happens?. Well, forty years later!. That there sixteen year old kid is still today my best friend. Ladies and gentlemen on the bass guitar Mr. Rick Savage."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech

"Portland, Oregon!. Thanks for having us. Thanks for coming. Thanks for being here. We'll see you next time. Goodnight."

"This is why we keep coming back here!. It doesn't get any better than this. Thank you Portland. Thank you so much. Amazing. Until next time, and there will be a next time!. Do us a big favour yeah. Don't forget us and we won't forget you. Goodnight."

View the current Setlist Statistics in the next news update.

The next show takes place on 12th June in Fresno, CA.

Def Leppard North American Tour 2017 - Show #29 Portland, OR Setlist

  • 00 - Let's Go Intro (PA)
  • 01 - Let's Go

Played for the first time in Portland.

  • 02 - Animal
  • 03 - Let It Go
  • 04 - Dangerous

Played for the first time in Portland.

  • 05 - Foolin'
  • 06 - Love Bites
  • 07 - Armageddon It
  • 08 - Rick Savage Bass Solo/Rock On

Played for the first time in Portland.

  • 09 - Man Enough

Played for the first time in Portland.

  • 10 - Rocket (Single Version)
  • 11 - Bringin' On The Heartbreak (electric)
  • 12 - Switch 625 (Instrumental)
  • 13 - Hysteria/Heroes (David Bowie) tag
  • 14 - Let's Get Rocked
  • 15 - Pour Some Sugar On Me
  • 16 - Rock Of Ages
  • 17 - Photograph

Poison - Portland, OR Setlist

  • 01 - Look What The Cat Dragged In
  • 02 - Ride The Wind
  • 03 - Talk Dirty To Me
  • 04 - Something To Believe In
  • 05 - Your Mama Don't Dance
  • 00 - C.C. DeVille Guitar Solo
  • 06 - Fallen Angel
  • 07 - Unskinny Bop
  • 00 - Rikki Rockett (Drum Solo)
  • 08 - Every Rose Has Its Thorn
  • 09 - Nothin' But A Good Time

Tesla - Portland, OR Setlist

  • 01 - Into The Now
  • 02 - Edison's Medicine (Man Out Of Time)
  • 03 - The Way It Is
  • 04 - Signs
  • 05 - Love Song
  • 06 - Little Suzi
  • 07 - Modern Day Cowboy

A post shared by Matt N (@mnagz) on