Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Classic Albums Hysteria  | 

Visualize/Video Archive.

  • UK Release Date - 27th May 2002
  • US Release Date - 27th August 2002
  • Format - DVD
  • Directed And Edited By - Matthew Longfellow
  • Series Producer - Nick de Grunwald
  • Executive Producers - Terry Shand/Geoff Kempin
  • Co-Executive Producer - Jamie Rugge-Price
  • Co-Executive Producer - Bous de Jong
  • Series Production Executive - Martin R. Smith
  • Extras - 50 minutes of bonus footage/Two acoustic performances
  • Running Time - 100 minutes
  • Label - Classic Albums Series 3 Ltd./Bludgeon Riffola Ltd.
  • Related Release - Hysteria 1987
  • Related Release - Hysteria Deluxe Edition 2006

DVD Notes By DefDazz/Darren

'Classic Albums Hysteria' was released in May 2002 before the show aired on UK TV. It features the main 49 minute TV show in segments plus over 50 minutes of bonus material. The TV series showcases Classic Albums and this one focused on Leppard's 1987 masterpiece 'Hysteria'. It shows all of the band members, who were directly involved in making the album, talking in detail about the experience. Also included are contributions from Vivian Campbell, archive footage of Mutt Lange and Steve Clark from 1989. Plus new interviews by record company/management people, Ross Halfin, Jeff Rich and Rolling Stone's David Fricke, who had written the official 1987 biography book 'Animal Instinct' that first documented the making of the album.

Back Cover Synopsis

Def Leppard's album Hysteria sold over 17 million copies, produced seven hit singles and brought worldwide superstardom to the band in 1987.

After the success in America of the 1983 album Pyromania, Def Leppard went into 'exile' in Dublin to begin writing and production of their fourth album. It would be four years in the making. During this time they would try three different record producers, three different recording studios, Producer Robert 'Mutt' Lange would suffer leg injuries in a car accident, drummer Rick Allen would narrowly survive a terrible car crash but lose his left arm in the accident, and the band would be taken to the limits of their physical and emotional endurance.

This programme takes a track by track look at the making of the album. We speak to Joe Elliott, Rick Allen, Phil Collen, and Rick Savage who lead us through the original multitrack tapes. Joe and Phil play acoustic versions of 'Pour Some Sugar On Me' and 'Hysteria', and Sav and Phil demonstrate riffs and licks from the songs, and explain the genesis of the songwriting. Rick talks of the impact of the car accident on his life and on the band, of his determination to re-learn the drums, and of his triumphant return to performing live at the 1986 Donington Festival.

Featured songs include 'Animal', 'Rocket', 'Love Bites', 'Hysteria', 'Women', 'Armageddon It', and 'Pour Some Sugar On Me'. The programme is illustrated by archive footage from Def Leppard in concert, TV performances and promotional videos, and provides a unique insight into the making of a record which dominated the charts for two years, a true Classic Album.

DVD Info
  • Tracklisting > Bonus Material
  • 01 - Initial Recordings Of Animal
  • 02 - Rick Gets Hysterical
  • 03 - Hysteria (Live Acoustic)
  • 04 - Drumming - Return To The Status Quo
  • 05 - The Album According To Joe
  • 06 - Sugar Stripped Down
  • 07 - Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live Acoustic)
  • 08 - Guitars, Guitars, Guitars
  • 09 - Windmill II And The Gods Of War
  • 10 - Mutt's Vocals In The Mix
  • 11 - The Album Is Finally Released