Friday, 21st April 2023
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2023. Ian Hunter/Joe Elliott 2019/2023

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott appears on the new Ian Hunter album Defiance Part 1 which has been released today.

The album 'Defiance Part 1' has been released today, Friday 21st April, via Sun Records.

The single 'Bed Of Roses' has been released in January and followed by two more songs 'Pavlov's Dog' and 'I Hate Hate'.

Joe contributes backing vocals to two songs on the album.

Guernica - which also features Mike Campbell (of Dirty Knobs fame...and ex-Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers).

This Is What I’m Here For - features the late Taylor Hawkins on guest drums.

The first time Joe will has played on a recording with a member of the Foo Fighters. Taylor also contributed drums to two other songs.

Listen to both songs below and the full album.

Joe spoke briefly about the album on his latest radio show and played 'I Hate Hate' again.

This marks the first time Joe has appeared on an Ian Hunter solo album.

Outside of live collaborations they have previously appeared on the same studio recordings once before for the 1994 Mick Ronson album 'Heaven And Hull'.

Ian also contributed to a Def Leppard studio recording in 1993 when he played the piano intro for the revised version of 'Ride Into The Sun' on the 'Retro-Active' album.

Among the MANY other star name guests on the album are - Eric, Dean and Robert from Stone Temple Pilots (and Delta Deep), plus members of Guns N' Roses, Aerosmith, The Rolling Stones, Metallica and ex-Beatle Ringo Starr.

All songs were written by Ian Hunter and feature his regular band including guitarist Andy York. The album was written and recorded over the past two years and will be followed by a second album 'Defiance Part 2'.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Ian Hunter 2023.

Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 1

  • 01 - Defiance (Feat. Slash & Robert Trujillo) - 4:07
  • 02 - Bed of Roses (Feat. Ringo Star, Mike Campbel) - 5:22
  • 03 - No Hard Feelings (Feat. Johnny Depp & Jeff Beck) - 5:42
  • 04 - Pavlov's Dog (Feat. Dennis DiBrizzi, Dean DeLeo & Robert DeLeo) - 4:31
  • 05 - Don't Tread On Me (Feat. Todd Rundgren) - 3:52
  • 06 - Guernica (Feat. Mike Campbell & Joe Elliott) - 5:23
  • Dane Clark: Drums and Percussion
  • Mike Campbell: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Andy Burton: Harmonium
  • Andy York: Bass, Baritone Guitar, Background Vocal
  • Ian Hunter: Piano
  • 07 - I Hate Hate (Feat. Dennis DiBrizzi) - 3:55
  • 08 - Angel (Feat. Taylor Hawkins & Duff McKagan) - 6:08
  • 09 - Kiss N' Make Up (Feat. Taylor Hawkins & Billy Bob Thornton) - 2:56
  • 10 - This Is What I'm Here For (Feat. Taylor Hawkins & Joe Elliott) - 3:33
  • Taylor Hawkins: Drums
  • Waddy Wachtel: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Paul Page: Bass
  • Andy Burton: Organ
  • Andy York: Baritone Guitar
  • Ian Hunter: Piano
  • 11 - I Hate Hate (Alternate Version) - 3:52

  • Record Label - Sun Records
  • Total Time - 49 mins
  • Release Date - 21st April 2023

Buy 'Defiance Part 1' Online

The Joe Elliott Show - 15th April 2023 Quote

Ian Hunter

"The album's out in a couple of week's time. I can't wait. Actually I've heard it. So on behalf of all you Ian Hunter fans out there. I can't wait. The album is Defiance Part 1. And that song that we just heard is the most recent song that Ian has released and written from that album. I Hate Hate."

Def Leppard 2023.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard The World Tour 2023

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT/GHOST's Spillways Added To BBC Radio 2 Playlist

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT/GHOST Pledge To Perform Spillways Live/Make New Music

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT Wants To Write With GHOST's Tobias Forge

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT Comments On GHOST Spillways Single Collaboration

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT With GHOST Spillways Single/Lyric Video Out Now

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT Appears On New GHOST Single/Video Spillways

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours