Saturday, 26th May 2018
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2018. Screenshot

Def Leppard played another show with Journey on the 2018 North American tour last night in Hershey, PA with 16 songs performed.

The show took place at the 30,000 capacity HersheyPark Stadium.

The band last played Hershey on 29th June 2016 on the Summer Tour 2016.

The seventh show by the band in this city and sixth in a row at this outdoor venue.

The first visit here was an In The Round show in November 1992 during the Adrenalize tour. The only indoor show played in the city.

They did not return until June 2006 on the YEAH! tour (also with Journey) and the first time at HersheyPark Stadium.

More shows followed here in 2007, 2011, 2012 and 2016.

Def Leppard opened the show which started a little earlier than the planned 7:30pm start time.

The first hour or so of the performance was played in daylight with the sun setting at around 8:30pm local time.

Phil Collen Misses Show

Live updater Chele reported from the Meet and Greet that Phil was not at the show and Steve Brown was there instead.

Fans were told Phil had to leave due to a "family emergency" and was back home in California. Joe later came out on stage to announce this to the crowd and that Steve Brown would perform in his place.

It seems Steve will play in Phil's place for upcoming shows starting at tonight in Buffalo, NY. The next show after this is on Monday night in Cleveland, OH.

This was the first Def Leppard concert missed by Phil since he played his first with them in February 1983 on the Pyromania tour. Steve Brown filled in for Vivian in late 2014 and again in mid-2015 due to his cancer treatment. Steve had only 24 hours notice to get ready for the show.

As most fans know Phil had mentioned in many recent interviews that his wife Helen was due to give birth to a baby boy named Jaxson in California very close to the start of the tour.

Best wishes to him and his family.

Def Leppard 2018. Screenshot

Joe Elliott - Phil Collen Announcement

"Good evening Hershey. I am Joe Elliott. Welcome to what should be a great night. I have an announcement to make. And I'd like you to spread the word as people come in. But very sadly Phil Collen cannot be with us this evening."

"He has a family emergency back in California. So we are very blessed that our very good friend Steve Brown who some of you may remember stood in for Vivian about four years ago when Vivian couldn't make a couple of shows, has learned the bits very, very rapidly and with Phil's blessing will join us on stage tonight. And for the immediate future."

"So just be prepared OK. We're here for ya and we're glad that you're here for us thank you. See you in 30 minutes."

Official Band Statement

"Our brother and bandmate Phil has unexpectedly returned home for a family emergency. With Phil’s blessing our friend, Steve Brown, will be joining us on stage until Phil is able to return. On with the show!"

Depeche Mode Cover Song

In a possible preview of the forthcoming 'Spotify Singles' release. A cover of Depeche Mode's Personal Jesus was played over the PA before the start of the show. Joe's vocals can be heard in the video recording.


'When Love & Hate Collide' and 'Man Enough' were played for the first time in Hershey. 'Let's Go' and 'Dangerous' had been played from the latest album at the 2016 show here.

The show was played on the smaller outdoor stage but included the full production being used in arenas. This included the new show opening with the three video screens being lowered for the start of 'Rocket'.

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2018 Fan Videos.

View the current Setlist Statistics in the next news update.

The next show takes place on 26th May in Buffalo, NY.

Def Leppard 2018 - Hershey, PA Setlist

  • 00 - Albums/Are You Excitable? Video (Intro)
  • 01 - Rocket (Single Version)
  • 02 - Animal
  • 03 - Foolin'
  • 04 - When Love & Hate Collide

Played for the first time in Hershey.

  • 05 - Let's Get Rocked
  • 06 - Armageddon It
  • 07 - Rick Savage Bass Solo/Rock On
  • 08 - Two Steps Behind (acoustic)
  • 09 - Man Enough

Played for the first time in Hershey.

  • 10 - Love Bites
  • 11 - Bringin' On The Heartbreak (electric)
  • 12 - Switch 625 (Instrumental)
  • 13 - Hysteria/Heroes (David Bowie) tag
  • 14 - Pour Some Sugar On Me

  • 15 - Rock Of Ages
  • 16 - Photograph

Songs 4 and 9 were played with Steve Brown for the first time. The rest had been performed with him in either 2014 or 2015.

Watch footage from the show on - Periscope

Def Leppard 2018 - Hershey, PA Show Speeches

Joe Elliott - Foolin' Intro

"Thank you!. Thank you very much. . Good evening Hershey!. How we doing?. Good to be here, thanks for having us. Always a pleasure. Here's something that you know if you have been with this band since, let's think, 1983 the Pyromania album!."

Joe Elliott - Rock On/Rick Savage Intro

"Phil's not here. Big cheer for Phil, come on. Big cheer for Phil - it was written by a guy called David Essex and here with a bit of low-end love for ya. To start it off, Mr. Rick Savage!."

Joe Elliott - Pre-Rock Of Ages Speech

"Thank you. Thank you very much. This a - this thing we're doing with Journey this summer. 60 shows all across the USA. 60 count 'em. It's a very celebratory thing of ours and Journey have been together for like a hundred f**king years or whatever. this is a good thing because we're survivors. Both bands are survivors. We're here for you. You're there for us. It's a good working relationship we've got here/ Let's keep it going for a few years more shall we."

"F**k knows what's gonna happen between now and then but this is, it's the first show that we've ever done without Phil. And as you know this band has been through some stuff. And boy have we been through some stuff. But we always come out the other end smiling because there's always somebody waiting on the other side. And that's you guys."

"So whatever Viv has been through, or when I lost my voice on the boat. And make some noise by the way for Steve Brown stepping in at the last minute. 24 hours ago. 24 hours to learn 40 years worth of music. That's f**ked up. But that's good. And no matte how much f**king work he has put in. It pales in insignificance to this boy at the back here. Stand up Rick Allen!. make some noise, come on!. And, ha ha, sorry abut that, as always, he will introduce this next number for ya."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech

"Hershey!. Thank you very much. It's been a real pleasure. We'll see you next time. Take care of yourselves. Goodnight!."

"Once again Hershey thank you so much. A real pleasure. Until next time. And there will be a next time!. Do us a big favour. Don't forget us and we won't forget you. Goodnight!."

Journey - Hershey, PA Setlist

  • 01 - Intro/Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
  • 02 - Be Good To Yourself
  • 03 - Only the Young
  • 00 - Neal Schon Guitar Solo #1
  • 04 - Stone In Love
  • 05 - Any Way You Want It
  • 06 - Lights
  • 00 - Jonathan Cain Piano Solo
  • 07 - Open Arms
  • 08 - Who's Crying Now
  • 09 - Edge Of The Blade
  • 10 - Chain Reaction
  • 11 - La Do Da/Steve Smith Drum Solo
  • 00 - Neal Schon Guitar Solo #2
  • 12 - Wheel In The Sky
  • 13 - Faithfully
  • 14 - Don't Stop Believin'

  • 15 - Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar