Thursday, 24th May 2018
Prev  |  Next

DEF LEPPARD x JOURNEY 2018 Tour ALBANY, NY (Show Report)

Def Leppard 2018. Screenshot

Def Leppard played another show with Journey on the 2018 North American tour last night in Albany, NY with 16 songs performed.

The show took place at the 15,357 capacity Times Union Center.

The band last played Albany on 22nd August 2003 on the X/Ten tour.

The fourth show by the band in this city and third at this arena under third different name.

The first visit here took place in October 1981 on the High 'n' Dry as support to Blackfoot.

They returned in October 1992 for an In The Round show at Knickerbocker Arena, as it was then known, on the Adrenalize tour.

They would not return until August 2003 on the X/Ten tour when the arena was sponsored by Pepsi. A show filmed by fans.

Last night's show was the first time Def Leppard closed on this tour. They will also close the first stadium show coming up soon in Toronto.


'When Love & Hate Collide' and 'Man Enough' were played for the first time in Albany and kept it's place as song four in the show.

The rest of the setlist also remained the same for the second show of the tour.

This was the first date where the new 'Def Leppard Pale' beer was sold to fans at the arena and surrounding area.


Sav did not wear his new Pink outfit last night. He reverted to his more usual black ensemble - for those who care!.

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2018 Fan Videos.

View the current Setlist Statistics in the next news update.

The next show takes place on 25th May in Hershey, PA.

Def Leppard 2018 - Albany, NY Setlist

  • 00 - Albums/Are You Excitable? Video (Intro)
  • 01 - Rocket (Single Version)
  • 02 - Animal
  • 03 - Foolin'
  • 04 - When Love & Hate Collide

Played for the first time in Albany.

  • 05 - Let's Get Rocked
  • 06 - Armageddon It
  • 07 - Rick Savage Bass Solo/Rock On
  • 08 - Two Steps Behind (acoustic)
  • 09 - Man Enough

Played for the first time in Albany.

  • 10 - Love Bites
  • 11 - Bringin' On The Heartbreak (electric)
  • 12 - Switch 625 (Instrumental)
  • 13 - Hysteria
  • 14 - Pour Some Sugar On Me

  • 15 - Rock Of Ages
  • 16 - Photograph

Watch footage of most of the show on - Periscope

Def Leppard 2018 - Albany, NY Show Speeches

Joe Elliott - Foolin' Intro

"Thank you!. Good evening. How we doing out there Albany?!. It's good to be here. Thanks for coming. Here's something you may remember if you go all the ay back to, let's see, 1983 Pyromania!."

Joe Elliott - Armageddon It/Vivian Campbell Intro

"Thank you. Thank you very much. Ah look at this place. Look at this place. It's good to be here, it's been a while. Nice to see you all again. How we doing are we having a good time?. You guys enjoy Journey?. It's gonna be a long summer. The second one of 60 shows. It's gonna be a really good time. They're having a good time, we're having a good time. Are you all having a good time?. He's having a good time Mr. Vivian Campbell!."

Joe Elliott - Rock On/Rick Savage Intro

"Make some noise for Mr. Rick Savage!."

Joe Elliott - Two Steps Behind Intro

"You're making a lot of noise so far. A lot of noise. That's why we're here for a lot of noise. However that's only one area of your throats. How's your singing voices feeling tonight? Ahh encouraging. You wanna do some singing? Yeah? OK, well it's this simple. If you know the words on the chorus, just sing 'em right back at us OK?. Alright? Alright?. Alright Two Steps Behind."

Joe Elliott - Man Enough Intro

"Right!. Alany, New York. I wanna see some hands in the air on this one. All the way to the back. Come on. Come on get 'em up!. Get your hands up. Come on. Come on."

Joe Elliott - Pre-Rock Of Ages Speech

"Thank you. Thank you very much. Oh wow. It never gets old to stand here and look at this and see everyone. Every gig as I said earlier is a blessing. Every gig we do we play as if it's the last gig we'll ever play. It's not the last gig we'll ever play, but we do that because you're out there for us and we appreciate it more than you'll ever know."

"Stand up Rick Allen!. And as ever, he will introduce this one for ya."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech

"Albany, New York. thank you so much. It's been a real pleasure. Thanks for having us, thanks for coming, thanks for being here!. We'll see you next time. Goodnight."

"Once again Albany thank you so much. A pleasure as always. Until next time. And there will be a next time!. Do us a big favour. Don't forget us and we won't forget you. Goodnight!."

Journey - Albany, NY Setlist

  • 01 - Intro/Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
  • 02 - Be Good To Yourself
  • 03 - Only the Young
  • 00 - Neal Schon Guitar Solo #1
  • 04 - Stone In Love
  • 05 - Any Way You Want It
  • 06 - Lights
  • 00 - Jonathan Cain Piano Solo
  • 07 - Open Arms
  • 08 - Who's Crying Now
  • 09 - Edge Of The Blade
  • 10 - Chain Reaction
  • 11 - La Do Da/Steve Smith Drum Solo
  • 00 - Neal Schon Guitar Solo #2
  • 12 - Wheel In The Sky
  • 13 - Faithfully
  • 14 - Don't Stop Believin'

  • 15 - Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'

A post shared by Scott Zido (@szidophoto) on

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar