Saturday, 9th June 2018
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2018. Screenshot

Def Leppard played another show with Journey on the 2018 North American tour last night in Bristow, VA with 16 songs performed.

The show took place at the 25,262 capacity Jiffy Lube Live.

The band last played Bristow on 10th August 2016 on the Summer Tour 2016.

The tenth show by the band in this city.

The first visit here took place in July 1996 during the Slang tour with Tripping Daisy as support.

All ten shows have been played at the same venue.

They did not return to Bristow until October 2005 with Bryan Adams on the Rock Of Ages tour.

This was the first of three shows in three years with return visits in July 2006 and August 2007 during the YEAH! and Downstage Thrust tours.

More shows took place in 2009 and 2011 when the venue name changed to Jiffy Lube Live. It was previously sponsored by Nissan and called the Nissan Pavilion.

Three more consecutive shows then took place here in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Last night's show was the first outdoor amphitheatre shows of the current tour. The type of venue that has made up most of the band's most recent summer tours in the USA.

Many fans reported a huge turnout at the show which was mostly played in daylight. And traffic issues outside before the start of the concert.

Joe brought back his 'phones' moment before 'Rock Of Ages'.


'When Love & Hate Collide' was played for the first time in Bristow.

Gods Of War

'Gods Of War' was played during the soundcheck at this show. Video footage being posted by the band before the main concert began. View the clips below.

Phil mentioned rehearsing Hysteria album tracks before the tour. This could be part of these ongoing rehearsals for the 'Hysteria' tour or a sign of its introduction on the North American tour. Previously soundchecked songs usually make it into the setlist. 'Let's Go' having been played numerous times at soundcheck in 2015 before it's eventual debut.

Sheffield Wednesday

The show was attended by ex-Sheffield Wednesday footballer John Harkes who also played for the US national team. He played three seasons in Sheffield from 1990 to 1993. View photos below.

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2018 Fan Videos.

Joe Elliott - Pre-Rock Of Ages Speech

"Thank you. Thank you very much Bristow!. Well as I said earlier and as I shall say again. What a f**king sight. What an amazing sight. thank you so much. Remember the old days when everybody used to get their lighters out Now it's all phones and everything else. Everybody get their phone out. Let's have a look at you. Come on. Phones out, let's have a look. Oh yeah look at that."

You don't have to go quiet by the way, you can make noise while you're doing this. That is a beautiful sight, thank you. Thank you Bristow. Thank you so much. Now that beautiful noise that you have been making all night long. Do you think you can make a little bit more? A little bit more?. For the boy at the back. Stand up Rick Allen!. As always he will introduce this one for ya."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech

"Bristow!. Thank you so much.It's been a real pleasure. We'll see you next time. Goodnight!."

"Once again thank you. Look after yourselves. Until next time. And there will be a next time!. Do us a favour. Don't forget us. We won't forget you. Goodnight."

View the current Setlist Statistics in the next news update.

The next show takes place on 9th June in Charlotte, NC.

Def Leppard 2018 - Bristow, VA Setlist

  • 00 - Are You Excitable? Video (Intro)
  • 01 - Rocket (Single Version)
  • 02 - Animal
  • 03 - Foolin'
  • 04 - When Love & Hate Collide

Played for the first time in Bristow, VA.

  • 05 - Let's Get Rocked
  • 06 - Armageddon It
  • 07 - Rick Savage Bass Solo/Rock On
  • 08 - Two Steps Behind (acoustic)
  • 09 - Man Enough
  • 10 - Love Bites
  • 11 - Bringin' On The Heartbreak (electric)
  • 12 - Switch 625 (Instrumental)
  • 13 - Hysteria/Heroes (David Bowie) tag
  • 14 - Pour Some Sugar On Me

  • 15 - Rock Of Ages
  • 16 - Photograph

Journey - Bristow, VA Setlist

  • 01 - Intro/Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
  • 02 - Be Good To Yourself
  • 03 - Only the Young
  • 00 - Neal Schon Guitar Solo #1
  • 04 - Stone In Love
  • 05 - Escape
  • 06 - Any Way You Want It
  • 07 - Lights
  • 00 - Jonathan Cain Piano Solo
  • 08 - Open Arms
  • 09 - Who's Crying Now
  • 10 - La Do Da/Steve Smith Drum Solo
  • 00 - Neal Schon Guitar Solo #2
  • 11 - Wheel In The Sky
  • 12 - Faithfully
  • 13 - Don't Stop Believin'

  • 14 - Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'

A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar