Wednesday, 19th April 2017
Prev  |  Next

Record Store Day 2017 The DEF LEPPARD EP (Full Release Details)

The Def Leppard EP 1979.

The full details of The Def Leppard E.P. Record Store Day 2017 release have now been revealed.

The new Record Store Day 2017 version is an exact replica of the original 1979 The Def Leppard E.P..

The first 500 copies of the original January 1979 version featured a red label and a lyric sheet with ink drawings of the four band members.

A new Instagram post from one of the record stores selling the new version reveals the RSD17 release is an exact copy of this original one.

The red label, front and back covers and the two sided insert lyric sheet have all been reproduced.

Shown below are scans of one of the original 500 E.P. copies from January 1979.

These were submitted to the site a while ago by John Medd who saw the band many times in their early days.

As you can see the lyrics to 'Ride Into the Sun', 'Getcha Rocks Off' and 'The Overture' were all printed on the insert sheet.

The UK price for the new EP is £11.99. Possibly limited to only 700 copies but this quantity has not been confirmed.

Any copies left after Saturday 22nd April will be sold online from 29th April onwards.

The Def Leppard E.P. 1979 - Photos

Submitted By John Medd.

The Def Leppard E.P. (Record Store Day 2017) - Product Details

  • SIDE A (01) - Ride Into The Sun
  • SIDE A (02) - Getcha Rocks Off (Single Version)
  • SIDE B - The Overture
  • Format - 1 Disc (12" Vinyl - 180 gram)
  • UK Label - UMC/Mercury UK
  • US Label - UME
  • UK Price - £11.99
  • US Quantity - 4,000
  • UK Quantity - 700 (TBC)
  • Catalogue Number - 5726672
  • Release Date - 22nd April 2017

The Def Leppard E.P. 2017 - UK Press Release

UMC/Mercury are pleased to announce the release of "The Def Leppard EP" in conjunction with Record Store Day 2017. This release marks the start of a series of catalogue releases over the next few years for Def Leppard.

22nd April 2017 will see the band release their original first EP with replica art and picture cover. This is a 12" version of the EP playing at 45rpm - a one off special for Record Store day and the first time it will be available in that format. The release is fully supported by the band. Track listing is as follows:

1 Ride Into The Sun (2:57)

2 Getcha Rocks Off (3:44)

3 The Overture (7:56)

The EP was originally recorded in November 1978 at Fairview studios in Hull and self-produced by the band. Released in January 1979 through the bands own Bludgeon Riffola label, this was the EP that launched one of the most successful and critically acclaimed rock bands of all time.

Def Leppard continues to release new music, most recently with their self titled studio album that was released to widespread critical acclaim in late 2015. The band also recently hit #1 with their live concert DVD, "And There Will Be A Next Timeā€¦Live From Detroit," released in February 2017.

A post shared by jasonreeves (@seveernosaj) on

Related News - Joe Elliott Reveals THE DEF LEPPARD EP RSD17 Photo Trivia

Related News - Def Leppard EP 12 Inch To Be Released On Record Store Day 2017

Related News - Def Leppard Vinyl Albums Reissues Update (More Info)

Related News - New Def Leppard EP Vinyl Release On Amazon UK For April

Related News - 38 Years Ago Def Leppard Release First Record (The Def Leppard EP)

Related News - 38 Years Ago Def Leppard Record Their First EP At Fairview Studios

Related News - Joe Elliott Says Def Leppard's YEAH! Album To Be Released On Vinyl

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar